Tips for Research Collaboration

GirtonOramsay

Hey everyone,

I didn't see a thread on this topic, so I figured that I would make one. So I am planning to go to a regional conference with one goal being to talk among local researchers about how we could work together on future projects. 

I'm curious how you even go about making new collaborations with new researchers. What questions do you want to ask or topics should you plan to cover during the conversation? I do have some ideas for collaboration (trying to combine experimental and computational modelling efforts) down the road, but I haven't really done much work to show these researchers since I'm still in my first year. For the longer term, what tips do you recommend for fostering good relationships at conferences with researchers that you would like to work with further down the road (say 1-2 years)?

• 2 weeks later...

I'm wondering if a better first step would be to actually become acquainted and familiar with each other's work and interests before jumping to "lets collaborate on project x!"  A collaboration is a relationship that will require a lot of communication and that's going to be easier if you actually like each other, have similar work styles, and balance each others strengths/weaknesses.  If you keep in contact after the conference with the occasional question about their work, to bounce ideas, etc then you'll get a sense of how you both might work on a project together and their openness to even doing that.

I'm also wondering about this topic. One of my classmates invited me to collaborate on a paper, but we're studying English literature. I can't grasp the idea of practically dividing the work. However, we do complement specializations (I'm starting to be more knowledgeable about comics studies, while she has had experience in writing about heterotopias / theory, in general).

I do apologize for somehow interrupting a discussion from an entirely different field!