Volunteer/Experience for Grad School?

I am currently an undergraduate studying Communication Disorders and was wondering about different experiences in the field of speech pathology. I currently volunteer once a week at a hospital mainly with kids, but I also get exposure to other patients with communication disorders too. I volunteer once a week in a preschool for kids with communication disorders as well. I job shadowed an slp in a hospital once, and I am also a pharmacy technician. Should I get more volunteer/job shadowing/or other experience in the field for grad school?

You said you shadowed an SLP once--do you have your 25 observation hours completed? If not, you will need to shadow an ASHA-certified SLP (or a grad student clinician with a certified supervisor) and have them sign off on a log. Most if not all schools will need this completed before you begin.

Otherwise, sounds like you're doing great!

Edited by bibliophile222

I think you have great volunteer experiences already! I echo the above post about seeing if you can find a consistent shadowing opportunity. Additionally, rather than adding a new experience, I might suggest trying to see if you can increase your involvement or responsibility in one or more of those opportunities. Adding another volunteer site may add some lines to your resume, but more involved participation in an experience can really deepen your learning, personal statement, and potentially a LOR, which is where I think you can REALLY shine in an application. 

On 11/3/2018 at 5:09 PM, slpcommdis said: