Grad School Prospects

lth

This is my inaugural post. Greetings. I'll get to the point-

I'm terrified about my chances of getting into a philosophy phd program and would love some advice. My situation is thus: 

I graduated in 2014 from an unknown but accredited baptist school. My undergraduate experience was a mess. A cavalier approach and several disagreements with professors (I would simply leave class and never return) resulted in a disastrous freshman and sophomore year. As a junior, I got serious about academics and worked hard to that end. Unfortunately, in the beginning of my third year, my mom developed serious medical issues and was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. This brought considerable hardship both mentally and financially. Anyways, the end result was a cumulative undergrad GPA of 3.0, and a major (philosophy) GPA of 3.5. I also recently took the GRE and scored a 147Q, 165V. AWA Pending. As it stands I have 9 schools I am applying to, none of which appear on the PGR ranking. If I secure letters that speak well of my abilities, have a personal statement that addresses my weak spots, and write a very excellent sample, are my chances even worth the time I have already spent? I understand the admissions process is varied and dynamic, but if anyone can speak to my specific set of circumstances I would be incredibly thankful. 

Thanks guys, I'm shaking in my boots over here. 

Hey ITH,

I have a few thoughts for you. Take them with a grain of salt, since I'm just one person.

First, I'm curious to know your philosophical interests and aims going into academia. Do you want to primarily teach or just research and write? What are your topical areas of interest? Do you know anybody you'd particularly like to work with? (If you don't that's fine.)