Is it normal to feel bored in a Masters program

gradschoolprobs

Question

Maybe it is just me, but I don't find that much of a difference between Undergrad and Masters. Definitely there is more exposure to theories and more internship/research opportunities, but all professors are teaching their own area without making connections to other courses. I feel like I'm just learning stuff to get a degree and there is constraint in what we are learning. Is it normal to feel bored? Also, is it true that PhD programs allow more independence and creativity?

Edited by gradschoolprobs

5 answers to this question

Hi!

I am earning two masters: A MLIS and an MA (History). I feel bored from time to time. Sometimes courses cover stuff I already know. Some cover stuff I don't care about or aren't interested in. Sometimes the work feels pointless. But I know it's worth it for the degree in the end. I am even applying to more programs. I think that as long as not EVERYTHING is boring to you, that's okay. If everything is boring to you, perhaps you are in the wrong field. If you find that you hate doing it or that you don't care about anything, you might want to reevaluate. But as another grad student, I do feel bored sometimes. So I would say that is normal.

Good luck!

On 11/10/2018 at 12:10 PM, gradschoolprobs said:

Maybe it is just me, but I don't find that much of a difference between Undergrad and Masters. 

One can work as hard as one wants or does not want to work to earn a masters degree. As many (if not most) professors are unlikely to put in the energy and effort to motivate masters students, it's incumbent upon students to figure out how hard they want to work and to develop the tactics and work habits that will get them where they want to go.

I'm not sure how your program is structured, but my MA program had PhD and MA students in the same graduate courses, which elevated the level of discussion a lot. That was the main difference for me between undergrad and MA.