Will taking a sociology class increase my chances? (I have BA in econ)

aiaiaice

I got my BA in econ 2.5 yrs ago and I'm currently working as a research assistant at an international org, but I really want to switch to sociology, most likely economic sociology.

I'm planning to apply for PhD programs at the end of this year (also thinking master's, but I probably can't afford that and I don't want to take loans...).

I went to a top 15 liberal arts college, GPA 3.88, GRE diagnostic test V-166/Q-167, and I think I will be able to be convincing in terms of why I want to study sociology, but my LoRs are probably gonna be weak and I have ZERO background in sociology itself, outside of the career-search & readings that I'm currently doing by myself.

I'm thinking about taking one sociology class at GWU for spring semester since they allow non-degree students, and maybe even get an LoR out of that. Would that increase my chances in any way? I want to have at least a little bit of certainty before I shed $5000 :( Also, if I do take a course, would an intro class suffice, or would that be too cheesy and I'd be better off taking a more high-level class?

I think it will be fun to take a class even if it doesn't help since I really regret not taking sociology in college, but it's just so much money... ? 

Edited by Wonderland93
left out information

I think if you can make a convincing argument for why you want to study sociology, your B.A. major doesn't matter. Most departments' FAQs mention that an applicant's major doesn't need to be sociology. You could also contact programs you are interested and seek advice. 

19 hours ago, socchi92 said:

I think if you can make a convincing argument for why you want to study sociology, your B.A. major doesn't matter. Most departments' FAQs mention that an applicant's major doesn't need to be sociology. You could also contact programs you are interested and seek advice.