Transcript

egooririexruinam

Question

I studied Engineering for only 3 semesters. I didn't pursue because of financial difficulty as I had to work. Fast forward to 10 years, I went back to college and was able to earn my bachelor's degree in Biology.

When I was applying for PhD program (in the US), a relative/professor at a university in Texas (we're both Asians) said that I only need to submit my Biology transcript even if the instruction states  "submit transcript from all institutions attended." My problem is that, my grades from Engineering went downhill because of the financial struggle I had. Despite that, I still included my Engineering transcript because there were around 24 credit units that were transferred to my Biology course. 

My question is: if the admissions team convert my GPA to 4.0 scale, will they include the credits I earned from Engineering which are irrelevant to Biology?

3 answers to this question

14 hours ago, egooririexruinam said:

I studied Engineering for only 3 semesters. I didn't pursue because of financial difficulty as I had to work. Fast forward to 10 years, I went back to college and was able to earn my bachelor's degree in Biology.

When I was applying for PhD program (in the US), a relative/professor at a university in Texas (we're both Asians) said that I only need to submit my Biology transcript even if the instruction states  "submit transcript from all institutions attended." My problem is that, my grades from Engineering went downhill because of the financial struggle I had. Despite that, I still included my Engineering transcript because there were around 24 credit units that were transferred to my Biology course.  

My question is: if the admissions team convert my GPA to 4.0 scale, will they include the credits I earned from Engineering which are irrelevant to Biology?

It depends. Some institutions will calculate GPA using information from all of your transcripts; others may keep them separate.