Am I too old for grad school?

HarveyBear

Question

Hi,

I am a national of a developing country. I graduated from my Bachelor's degree in business from one of the most prestigious universities in my country in 2004 with a GPA of 3.7.  I graduated with the second highest GPA for our batch, and with honors. Then, I proceeded to law school to get my Juris Doctor. My grades were terrible in law school because my family went through financial troubles and I was distracted.

After law school, I worked for a law firm for 7 years. During my time at the firm, I handled mostly white collar crime investigations and prosecution. Then, I joined the government as advisor to the Inspectorate for 7 months. After that, I landed my dream job in the headquarters of a prestigious international development organization.  I've now been working there for 1 year and 3 months now.

Although my present job is great, I don't think I can move up unless I take up a graduate degree in economics or public policy. Hence, I intend to enroll in a top tier university to take up a master's degree in international relations or public administration.

My top choices are, as follows:

1. Harvard HKS MC/MPA

2. Yale Jackson Institute of Global Affairs M.A. in Global Affairs.

3. Stanford Ford Dorsey Institute.

My questions are, as follows:

1. I wonder what my chances are to get into the aforementioned programs

2. For Harvard and Yale, they tend to distinguish between masters and mid-career masters. I am now 35 years old and have been working for 9 1/2 years. Am I too old for masters yet too young for mid-career masters?

3. For Yales M.A.S. in global affairs , I understand there are no funding opportunities, would there be other external alternatives?

4. I would appreciate any advice or tip regarding increasing my chances of getting into any of these programs.

Thanks,

HarveyBear

7 answers to this question