Electrical and Computer Engineering PhD: Purdue vs Maryland vs Boston University

RadioSilence_

Hi,

I am an international student. I have been accepted from these 3 universities mentioned in the title. However, I really cannot choose since there are too many parameters involved.

Boston: Insanely good money(fellowship) , really good location, decent teachers

Purdue: Insanely good teaching(?), High prestige(?), very bad location, decent money

Maryland: Very good money(fellowship), RA position with a good advisor,  good location

Since I am an international, I really would like to know your thoughts about the prestige of these schools and also your experiences about these schools. How are they known by U.S citizens? Which school has a better research output? (Even though I looked at THE Rankings, I believe it is better if I get more info. about these schools)

Edited by RadioSilence_

• 2 weeks later...
On 2/12/2019 at 6:05 AM, RadioSilence_ said:

Hi,

I am an international student. I have been accepted from these 3 universities mentioned in the title. However, I really cannot choose since there are too many parameters involved.

Purdue: Insanely good teaching(?), High prestige(?), very bad location, decent money

Maryland: Very good money(fellowship), RA position with a good advisor,  good location

Since I am an international, I really would like to know your thoughts about the prestige of these schools and also your experiences about these schools. How are they known by U.S citizens? Which school has a better research output? (Even though I looked at THE Rankings, I believe it is better if I get more info. about these schools)

What sub field in ECE? The rankings are meaningless for small differences in rankings. Your advisor means much, much more.

For some good data sources

https://ncsesdata.nsf.gov/herd/2017/html/herd2017_dst_55.html

http://profiles.asee.org

On 2/12/2019 at 6:05 AM, RadioSilence_ said:

Hi,