Considering PhD. Need help answering some questions.

Hi all. I know you're all in the middle of application season, so you probably don't want to think about the process any more than you need to. With that said, I'd appreciate any and all responses. I'm considering applying for a PhD in English sometime in the next few years, so I figured I'd seek some advice as I begin thinking about what preparations need to take place. First, a candidate profile:

Undergrad: B.A. in Philosophy and Asian Studies from very selective, top 50 private school. I graduated  summa cum laude  with departmental honors.

Graduate: M.A. in Philosophy and an M.S. in Secondary English Ed. My philosophy degree is from one of the best terminal M.A. programs in the US. I graduated with a 3.6. My English ed degree is from a (different) top 50 private school with an excellent School of Ed. I graduated with a 3.8.

I became disillusioned with philosophy as I was finishing my M.A. and, on the advice of a mentor, I decided to take some time off to teach before deciding whether I wanted to get my PhD. I've discovered a love of English literature and I'd really like to seek a PhD in the next few years. So, I'd like to ask a few questions.

First Question : How late is too late to apply for a PhD program? I'd like to teach for a few years and get financially settled a bit, but if that will age me out of the process, so to speak, I'd like to apply sooner.

Second Question: Assuming I have a few years, how can I best prepare for future applications? Try to publish? Engage in more graduate coursework? Any advice would be super helpful.