Ask me anything: Advice from a 3rd year public health PhD student

DrJackPhD(c)

I wish there was a thread like this 4 years ago when I was posting on here with a bunch of questions about programs and applications.  

Anyways, I'm a third year PhD student in public health (Health Services Policy & Management).  Feel free to ask questions and I'll try to give my best answers.  

I don't know about all the public health schools or their specific quirks, so I can't answer about specific admission requirements or where to find faculty to meet your research focus.

Other than that!  Fire away!

Edited by DrJackPhD(c)
Typo

1 minute ago, apex45 said:

How did you decide between schools? 

How did you determine that you and your current advisor would be a good fit? 

For me, my choice of schools was for the following reasons:

1. Concentration I'm interested in.  "Health Policy"

2. Cost of living (I'm raising a family)

3. Financial assistance in the form of scholarships and graduate assistantships

4. Faculty that fit my research interests.

Regarding advisors:

For every school that fit within my parameters, I looked through the faculty listings on the school website.  I looked at the classes they taught and their publications.  I would introduce myself to those faculty members that fit and started conversations with them.  Some of them were more than happy to talk. You can get a general feel of how the faculty member will fit with you after a few emails or phone conversations.  Even if your have matching interests, the faculty member could rub you the wrong way.  It helps to get that sorted out before you oblige yourself to four to five years of working with that person.

6 minutes ago, ASA15 said:

Hi! Thanks for doing this!

Is there anything you didn't consider when looking at programs that you wish you had? Any questions you wish you'd asked current students/PI/faculty?