I have an MA in poetry. Do I stand a chance against other applicants of the Ivy/ivy adjacent schools?

Hello. I'm a creative writer. I have a chapbook and some other small pubs/awards, but my interest in literary criticism is fairly new. I'm a little warn out from workshop and I think a PhD in lit could make me a stronger candidate for the job market. I'm particularly interested in ecocriticism and Joseph Conrad, maybe sprinkle in a little Cormac McCarthy. Don't get me wrong, I'm not quitting creative writing, but I think now I want to be both a scholar and a writer. 

Most of my recommendations are going to be from creative writing profs. They have phds, but in creative writing. One of them has published a few articles on Conrad though, in nice journals. 

I think SUNY Buffalo and Connecticut may be good fits for me because they seem to offer some fluidity between lit and creative writing, but I'd still be enticed to give the ivy leagues a shot. 

Do you guys think if my WS were good enough I'd stand a chance?

Edited by LordQuas

Make sure you want to commit. Also maybe look into programs that specifically have creative components or an emphasis in writing (there are a few, UCSC for one). 

On the Ivy note, sure it's definitely possible, everything is about fit and having the basic grades, letters, SoP, and writing sample there isn't anything specifically that excludes you. I would say though, that in my searching, none of the Ivy schools are good fits for ecocrit people. Maybe finding a Conrad or McCarty person though that will then allow you to do ecocrit work on those authors is the best way to pitch yourself and find good people to work with.

9 hours ago, LordQuas said:

ecocriticism

I am not familiar with the creative writing side of this, but if you would like top schools that are strong in ecocriticism, this list is super helpful! https://www.asle.org/join-our-community/students/graduate-students/where-to-study/