Chance of Getting into Philsophy Grad School

DeliciousH2O

Hey all,

I’m a new user here so if this is in the wrong place please let me know!

I’m currently in my third year of my undergrad and am starting to prepare to apply for the 2020-2021 session. I currently plan to apply for MA Philsophy programs only.

I am doing my undergraduate in a top 10 school but I worry that my GPA will ruin my chances of getting into any program. It currently sits at a 2.9 but I’m on track to have it at a 3.0 by the start of my 4th year. I have gotten 4.0s in Philsophy courses and am currently taking a graduate level Philsophy course but I fear that my application won’t get very far along the process due to my GPA. 

I know that there really is no secret to getting into programs but was wondering whether I stood a chance.

You stand a chance.

Don’t worry about the gpa, it’s not going to be the thing that gets you rejected in most cases.

Apply to PhD programs too. 

13 hours ago, DeliciousH2O said:

Hey all,

I’m a new user here so if this is in the wrong place please let me know!

I’m currently in my third year of my undergrad and am starting to prepare to apply for the 2020-2021 session. I currently plan to apply for MA Philsophy programs only.

I am doing my undergraduate in a top 10 school but I worry that my GPA will ruin my chances of getting into any program. It currently sits at a 2.9 but I’m on track to have it at a 3.0 by the start of my 4th year. I have gotten 4.0s in Philsophy courses and am currently taking a graduate level Philsophy course but I fear that my application won’t get very far along the process due to my GPA. 

I know that there really is no secret to getting into programs but was wondering whether I stood a chance.

Your major GPA is most important, to be sure. However, why is your overall GPA low? A 3.0 is low enough that you should get your letter-writers to address it.