Canadian PhD programs?

hkmousey

Hello all - I am an American graduate student who applied PhD programs to three Canadian universities, McGill, University of Toronto and University of Western Ontario. I thought it will be harder for me to get into McGill and UofT programs than UWO. I am so surprised with the outcomes. - I got a rejection letter from UWO but I got into the PhD program at McGill with Graduate Fellowship. So ... does it mean the ranking of these three unviersities is: UWO, UofT and McGill? I am a little bit confused... according to the Gradcafe forums, Mcgill and UofT are far better schools than UWO... Any ideas?

Hello all - I am an American graduate student who applied PhD programs to three Canadian universities, McGill, University of Toronto and University of Western Ontario. I thought it will be harder for me to get into McGill and UofT programs than UWO. I am so surprised with the outcomes. - I got a rejection letter from UWO but I got into the PhD program at McGill with Graduate Fellowship. So ... does it mean the ranking of these three unviersities is: UWO, UofT and McGill? I am a little bit confused... according to the Gradcafe forums, Mcgill and UofT are far better schools than UWO... Any ideas?

McGill and UofT are top ranked as medical schools, but not for comprehensive research, they don't even make the top 10 for this category. For comprehensive research, you have simon fraser, victoria and waterloo in top 3. In both case UWO doesn't make the top 10. Still mcgill and UofT have overall great reputation, so being accepted to these university is great, you shouldn't bother about UWO rejection

Since UWO is smaller then McGill and Toronto, is it possible that they were no researchers available to supervise your research there or no researcher with funds? UofT and Mcgill, also receive a lot more funding then smaller university, so maybe that is why you got accepted there with fellowship.

congratulations for your mcgill offer