Thinking about getting into Harvard...

Eduardo

I’m currently a freshman at Loyola Chicago double majoring in Secondary Ed and History. I’m curious about graduate school and receiving a master’s in education from a top tier school. Currently my GPA is 3.3 and I am on my way towards improving it this semester. I’ve looked at various options for graduate school and have noticed that education in particular is less academically rigorous than other graduate programs across all schools. 

I’m curious. What would it take to get into Harvard’s Graduate School of Education for teaching and learning? What would you recommend a freshman to do for the next three years? If there are any alums out there who can help that would be much appreciated. 

It's too early to have a particular grad school in mind, people change drastically in college. Just focus on your grades and building a good resume. Idk what that would look like in your field but look around.

It's not too early to think about this, but I'd recommend keeping multiple schools in mind and putting finances over a "name brand" school. Based on the website, Harvard's program looks pretty expensive. If your plan is to teach children, I see no reason to get an expensive degree from a fancy school. Your Master's will offer you the same pay increase whether you get it from Harvard or the University of Arkansas, and it's not like the job market for high school teachers is competitive.

Also, keep in mind that a school's undergrad reputation =/= its grad reputation. I don't know about Harvard, but there are Ivy Leagues out there with Master's programs that are essentially cash cows (i.e. they aren't competitive to get into and they're very pricey). Some of Columbia's programs have this reputation, for example.