Confused about USA and UK.

dey17

UIC vs Cambridge PhD  

8 members have voted

1. 1. I am a Chemistry graduate student at UIC. I got an offer to study Machine Learning in Cambridge for PhD. What should I do?

• Stay at UIC!!!!
    • Move to Cambridge!!!!

Hi,

I am a first-year Graduate Student in Chemistry at the University of Illinois Chicago. I got admitted here in Fall 2018. I basically work on MD Simulations. Now I got an offer to study Machine Learning at Cambridge for PhD with a very well-known professor. However, I am somewhat sceptical about moving to UK from USA since I am unaware of the grad life in UK. The monthly stipend at Cambridge is also quite less. Please offer me some advice. I seem clueless right now.

Many things to unpack here. 

First, just to be on the same page, I assume you are not making your decision based on this survey. This is an important decision to make and you wouldn't want strangers in the internet making it for you.

Second, I am a bit confused. People do not get offers to do a PhD in Cambridge (or anywhere) out of the blue. In other words, you applied to that program and, since you do not provide any other piece information, I can safely assume you applied when you were already in the program at UIC. Are you doing a PhD or a Master's at UIC? 

• If you are doing a master's, and assuming it's a two-year master's since you are asking for advice, I would reach out to Cambridge to see if you can defer admission for a year.