Clinical Psychology PhD or masters first

Hi, 

I have a 3.25 overall gpa and about a 3.6 psych gpa. I have about 2 years of research experience in a social psychology setting. I want to apply to PhD programs in clinical psychology, but I fee I don’t have a strong enough application since my research experience is in social psychology. Should I apply to a masters program before I apply to a PhD program? 

The research skills are transferable; however, if what you were doing in the social lab isn't related to your interests, then make sure your SOP gives a good picture of how you can apply those skills and what your actual interests are. I also think you should think about what kind of research experience is, did you only do data entry or did you help write the paper? Did it (or could it) result in a publication? Two years of basic RA duties may not be enough to show that you can stick with a project through its completion. 

As far as your GPA goes, it's a bit on the lower end but that's not the end of the world. An otherwise great application (especially good GRE scores) can completely outweigh this. 

Honestly, the purpose of a Masters is to boost a GPA, gain research experience and clarity in your research ideas, and to prepare you for the different kind of rigor that grad school requires. I will never discourage a Masters, I'm currently in a clinical MA, but you should be aware that the majority of programs are NOT funded at this level. If you have debt from undergrad, you'd only be adding to that because it is very hard to work during grad school. Conversely, if you're able to secure a position as a paid RA or Lab Coordinator/Manager in a lab that matches your interests/methodologies then you could get nearly the same benefits as a Masters. It shows that you can do research and see it to completion, that you're serious about the field, and gives you more experience and possible a publication or two, all without the cost of a Masters.