Psych GRE Suggestions for Non-Psych Student

blithe285

Hello!

I am currently a graduate student in chemistry and will hopefully be finishing up my degree soon; however, I am looking to change career paths into psychology research and am thus looking to do a second Ph.D. in psychology (ooph, right?). I have no official training in psychology, and thus find myself in a somewhat dubious position. Does anyone have any advice for how to do well on the psych GRE without any formal training? Since I will be lacking a related bachelor's degree, I have a suspicion that performing well on the standardized test will be much more important for me than it would be for more traditional applicants.

I have looked into the Princeton Review and Kaplan study guides. If any of you can comment on how well these materials align to the material on the test, I would appreciate it! It seems that the Princeton Review guide is quite outdated, with DSM-IV rather than V material.

Thank you!!

Edited by blithe285

Best bet is to just get an intro to psych textbook. Also, have you looked into specific programs? Most of them don't even want the Psych GRE. I would also look into the requirements for admission. Many of them require certain undergrad classes for admission. 

In response to PsyDGrad90 above - while the Psych GRE isn't a formal requirement, many suggest it if you are applying without an undergraduate degree in psychology in addition to specific psychology classes you may have to take such as research methods and statistics. So, you are on the right track preparing to take the subject test!