PhD in Biostatistics Fall 2020 Profile Evaluation

Vash.181

I am an International student completing Master's in an US institute. I am applying for Ph.D. programs in Biostatistics for Fall 2020. I have a good GPA, industrial and research experience and strong LORs. My main concern is my low GRE score and that I don't have any publications. I will be publishing my Master's thesis but not before I complete the applications.

Undergrad Institution: International, one of the top universities, good reputation

Major: Statistics

GPA: 72% (converted using WES - 3.58 GPA)

Grad Institution: Top 100 in USA

Degree: MS. Applied Statistics 50% scholarship

GPA: 3.89/4.0

Student: International, female

Courses: 

Courses (Sem I, II, III and IV): Fundamentals of Statistical Theory (A), Regression Analysis (A), Statistical Software – R and SAS (A), Design of Experiments (A), Predictive Analytics (B+), Design & Analysis of Clinical Trials (A), Categorical Data Analysis (A), Non-parametric Statistics and Bootstrapping (A -).

GRE: 160 Q, 150 V, 3.5 AW, scores are 3 years old

TOEFL: 104

Research/Work Experience: 3 years as a Data Analyst in a global Fortune 500 Market research company (native country), during Masters in USA - 2 and half years as a Teaching Assistant with 6 professors, 1 year as Research Assistant with 2 professors, 6 months with a startup as a Statistical Analyst Intern. Currently working as a Clinical Research Assistant within an Analysis unit at a Medical Center of a reputed University.

Judge and Mentor for a Datathon arranged for Undergrad students. Have attended a conference in 2019. Both events were associated with American Statistical Association.

Two Awards of Excellence when I worked as Data Analyst before Master's.

Won Best Teaching Assistant Award as well.  

Expecting strong Letters of Recommendation.

Applying to:

University of Rochester  Ph.D. in Statistics - concentration in Bioinformatics & Computational Biology