Considering Mastering Out, Reapplying 2021

BigBoyBabeuf

Hi everyone,

Looking for any insight you might have, particularly if you're aware of anyone who has been in a similar position. I'm a first year PhD student without a prior MA, but I'm having some serious doubts about my department after spending a semester here. While I'm aware that every department will have its flaws and disappointments, there are problems affecting graduate students here with respect to coursework and institutional support that I feel could potentially be harming my development as a philosopher and my ability to start professionalizing effectively. And I feel as though some of the promises made to incoming students were done under misleading pretenses, making me uneasy with this program overall. To that end, I'm kicking around the prospect of mastering out at the end of the next school year and trying to enter another program. I never intended to use my school as a stepping stone, but I can't deny that my time in graduate school will have done wonders for the biggest flaws in my application last cycle.  I haven't made up my mind and I won't one way or the other until this coming summer, but I don't want to get caught flat-footed if I decide to go through with it. My questions are:

1. Were I to commit to this course of action, would I have status as a transfer student? Or would I be considered the same as any other applicant entering with a terminal masters? 

2. I understand I will be burning some bridges in this process, but I'd like to know what kind of professional arson I'm undertaking. Would attempting such a course of action make my current position untenable? Or if the cycle were to go poorly, could I expect to return to school the next year and continue my progress?