What are my chances?

Gorgoll

Dear friends,

I'm a Brazilian student with interest in entering graduate school in Continental Philosophy, specially German Idealism and Phenomenology. My undergraduate degree was in Law, not philosophy - Law is an undergrad in Brazil -, and I've entered a (fully funded) MA in Philosophy, also in Brazil, but in a different university. My undergrad GPA was relatively low at 3.4, but my current MA GPA is 3,97. I've a lot of experience with presentations - More than 20 -, I have translated a philosophy book from German to Portuguese and I've some publications. That being said, I would like to inquire you about what are my chances of joining a good grad school in Continental Philosophy at USA or Canada. I would also like to know where I should apply. The best places seem to be are Columbia, Chicago, McGill and Toronto. Where else should I apply?

Thank you in advance.  

Here's a recent thread on exactly this question:

Also, here's a link to the Pluralist's Guide (a non-ranked guide). I don't know when this list was last updated, but it has a good set of the usual suspects for continental philosophy.

In my experience the usual suspects really heavy in continental philosophy are: Depaul, Duquesne, Emory, Penn State, Stony Brook, and Villanova.

https://sites.psu.edu/pluralistsguide/program-recommendations/continental-philosophy/

On 12/17/2019 at 11:40 AM, Olórin said:

Here's a recent thread on exactly this question:

Also, here's a link to the Pluralist's Guide (a non-ranked guide). I don't know when this list was last updated, but it has a good set of the usual suspects for continental philosophy.

In my experience the usual suspects really heavy in continental philosophy are: Depaul, Duquesne, Emory, Penn State, Stony Brook, and Villanova.

https://sites.psu.edu/pluralistsguide/program-recommendations/continental-philosophy/