Bard MFA Q&A

123mfa

Hi, I'm a former Bard student (in sculpture) and am happy to answer any questions people might have about the MFA program.  I think the program is often lumped in with other low residency MFAs, but I found the format helped me make better work and be better prepared for life after school (instead of being in MFA-land for two years and then confronted with reality).

The school attracts a lot of different types of students and interesting work.  I'm not here in any official capacity, just happy to demystify anything for people interested in applying.

• 1 month later...

Hello, thanks for your kindness. :)

There are few questions that I would like to ask about Bard College MFA. I'm currently living outside of the states, and it's really hard to find the info about Bard here...

So, based on what I found out so far, Summer & Winter Session is the time when you have to do study at the school. Does it mean that you have to be outside of school during Spring and Fall season? (I was wondering if there are no classes like usual (professors teaching their own professional area via lecture or classes)). Can you explain more about how the Bard format helped you preparing for life after school?

And do the MFA program prefers the students from the various background from your experience? Because I'm currently working at advertising company, and Bard College MFA website kind of gave me the impression that they are welcoming the people who are starting art in the middle of their career, and I wanted to know how much is that actualized in the program.

Finally, how strong is the division of the departments? I want to apply for the music/sound department, and hope that all the departments collaborate actively.

Hope that you see this questions...!

Cheers

• 3 weeks later...
On 2/10/2020 at 7:27 PM, amuamu said:

Hello, thanks for your kindness. :)