Waiting the results - How do you deal with the stress?

aloy

Hello Friends!

I have the feeling that there are many of us, who are waiting with dead silence from the schools and stressing about the admission process. This is my third round of application period and I am a second-year MA student. This waiting has been making me super stressed and I lost my motivations for the things I love to do! I play bunch of video games and pet our kitty and it helps a lot :) Though I prefer to go back to being motivated professionally and academically. I also scheduled a meeting with my school's counseling service to talk about it. 

How do you deal with the stress? What are your resources for support and motivation? 

Hi @aloy I'm in the same boat with you!  I'm sorry you're feeling so stressed and unmotivated.  That's real.  This is a really hard place to be in -- we have no power over what happens next, and nothing to do but wait.  

This quote from a poster in another topic has been useful to read --

I don't know what works best for you, but I decided to take an art class -- once a week, doing something I have never done before and never would have otherwise.  The actual class takes up time, but I spend more time out of class thinking about and planning for what I will do in class later.  That has helped ground me and more importantly -- distract me!  If there is a class you can take, I can't recommend it enough.  Or, you could use the deep resource of youtube and teach yourself a new skill -- knitting, sewing, basic woodworking, baking... anything to keep the hands and mind busy.

❤️ Good luck!!!