How to switch PhD labs

misslitty

I am going to save the whole backstory and just get into my question.  I am a first-year PhD student, and I came to this university because my PI's research is a perfect fit.  I came out over the summer to begin research early and get into the swing of things, but this is undoubtedly NOT the lab for me.  I'm miserable and it is a horribly toxic environment.  I have contacted both of my previous PI's and they agree that I need to change labs.

My question is, how do I go about doing so?  As soon as word gets back that I'm looking into funding available in other labs, my PI will fire me on the spot.  He also would not give a good reference once he learns I am leaving.  There is also no departmental staff that I can inquire to about departmental support in the case of funding lapse- there is only 1 staff member who hasn't quit, and they would tell my PI if I asked about anything.  I don't know what to do.. I feel like I'm forced to make this decision blind.

I am in a fairly similar situation as you are, so I can tell you what i have heard from other people, and the course of action I have decided to take. However, from what I understood, it also depends on the academic/administrative system of your school/department, and how they handle the process. Some schools care a lot about their students and will try to support you in whatever decision you take, while others leave you to the mercy of your advisor, so if they oust you, the school will also not care. 

So the two important things to note here are -- 
1) Does your advisor or anyone around them have an idea that you are finding it hard to fit in?