Pursuing a PhD in Statistics & Data Science for professional reasons - overcoming feeling of inadequacy due to "passion"

Bacaw

Quick background info: I hold a master's degree in statistics, which I earned immediately after undergrad.  I have worked as a quantitative analyst and data scientist for the last three years in the finance industry.

Quick summary of my dilemma: I enjoy my professional career, but my work often feels stale or mundane due to a relative lack of complexity.  I am considering a PhD to advance my professional career.  I would consider myself a data science enthusiast, but I would stop short of calling it my passion.  I am trying to shake feelings of inadequacy in a pool full of individuals more passionate about research and academia than myself.

---

For the past three years, I have pondered the option of leaving the private sector and returning to graduate school for my PhD.  My master's degree in statistics provided me with a fantastic foundation in statistical modeling and machine learning.  However, at the same time, my graduate degree also revealed to me the much more vast realm of knowledge well beyond my understanding - deep learning, NLP, etc.  I feel there is very much a ceiling to the data science roles in industry I am well-qualified for currently.  Three years into my career, I am growing tired of logistic regressions and random forests.  Simply put, I am bored with my current work.  I want my work to be more mentally stimulating.  I want the fulfillment that comes from tackling more difficult analytic problems.