Education Policy PhD vs MA help

joysii

I'm a student fresh out of undergrad that applied to a bunch of PhD programs for ed policy and just got all my results back. I was accepted into some PhD programs and some MA programs (I applied to the PhD and they referred me to the MA instead bc they thought I would be a better fit) and I was looking for advice on making decisions.

My main concern is all the MAs are only 1 year long. Are these programs still designed to lead towards further study (PhD) or do they function as something more for teachers who would like more background/a degree? I just find it hard to imagine the stress of having just started a MA only to have to apply to PhD programs all over again that very winter before I even know my MA professors that well. I want to work in the research field so a PhD would be my goal in the long run, but I wasn't sure if it would be better to do a MA first or go straight to a PhD program. Since so many schools referred me to their MA programs, maybe there's a reason I shouldn't jump into a PhD straight away?

I believe it depends on the school who accepted you for PhD. The ranking of the university matters in this case, if you aim to start your PhD at a top 10 school, then MA would be a wise route, but if you want to start for PhD asap, then continue with the offer you got.

I also applied to some PhD and some Masters programs and seems like I got accepted to masters programs more so than PhD. I would choose to go to a highly ranked school as that’ll get you through to a good PhD program eventually anyway. That’s what I’m doing.

• 3 weeks later...
On 3/11/2020 at 7:12 AM, seskande said:

I also applied to some PhD and some Masters programs and seems like I got accepted to masters programs more so than PhD. I would choose to go to a highly ranked school as that’ll get you through to a good PhD program eventually anyway. That’s what I’m doing.