Can universities take back offers?

Itai

Question

A while back, I have accepted an offer from a certain university.  Due to the COVID-19 situation, I was worried they might take back their offer,
so I reached out to the department to check my status. They said that they will send further instructions on the 15th of April and that there is nothing to worry about.

However, as an international student, I am not familiar with the process, and I wonder if they can take back the offer?

8 answers to this question

I really don't think so, that's really unheard of. Even though they might be legally allowed to do that, at the postgraduate research level people are aware that the communities are very small, everyone knows each other and the ethical backlash of this would be huge. I think they would be more likely to not make further offers and/or reduce the cohort size for the upcoming year, than to take back the offers they already sent out.

Having said that, I don't want to cause you concern but if you haven't received an official confirmation of funding, but only received an admission, that might be something you might have to worry about. Then again, I think they would make their funding arrangements for further offers, not existing ones.

I do hope it all works out well for you.

I think it's really nice of you to consider declining your existing offers, given that you have an admission you are set for. If you have 4-5 or more offers you could consider narrowing it down to 2-3 of your top choices and wait until you get a confirmation from your top choice that you are comfortable with.

As someone who was waitlisted myself, I can say that as much as it would help other people a lot if you decline your other offers, you worked this hard to get yourself to where you are and its well within your rights to hold on to your other offers until the end (April 14-15) if that makes you more comfortable.