Making A Big Cross Country Move

I think this is the proper forum for this? If not, my apologies!

So, as it turns out, none of the schools that I was admitted to are anywhere near where I live. I've only ever made moves that were within a four-hour driving distance, so making multiple trips back and forth over a few months was no big deal. I'm unloading a lot of my possessions, but I do collect records and other band merch and I am a musician - so some of this stuff will be a pain to move! I'm assuming other people have been in a similar situation before. How easy is it to rent a trailer and pack it up? How about shipping large items? Any help is appreciated.  

Hi there! For my Master's I had to move cross country from California to Georgia and I did it alone. I planned it pretty carefully, with all the stops planned out and had maps in case I lost service (free maps at AAA). Personally I donated a lot of stuff because I wanted to start fresh. Sometimes buying stuff at the destination will be cheaper than shipping/renting a trailer. I fit my whole life in my small car. If I were you, I would call up UHaul and other companies to get a rate for a trailer. Then look at the cost of shipping your items and compare. I would guess shipping will be more expensive, depending how far away the place is that you are moving to.

Cheers!

I moved from the Southeast to the Northeast for graduate school, and then from the Northeast to the Pacific Northwest for my first job. The first move is more relevant - much like dippedincoffee, I scaled down significantly; I got all of my belongings into two suitcases.

I agree with @dippedincoffee that buying new stuff where you go might be cheaper than shipping things. I looked into shipping my bedroom furniture (really nice stuff) from my home in the Southeast to the Northeast, but it was cheaper for me to buy an inexpensive but still good quality mattress and bed frame in the new location.