Question

Hello!

I was wondering if anyone had any advice or experience on beginning a career in psychology with an arts background. I graduated in 2019 with a BFA in Design and Production from a university with a conservatory teaching style. My degree is focused specifically in Wig and Makeup Design. I work (when it's not a pandemic) in NYC as a wig builder for broadway and have built wigs for individuals with medical related hair loss. I have a real desire to work in a helping profession specifically as a therapist or psychologist. I started college with a range of AP credits so I wasn't required to take a Math or Science so I have no science classes on my transcript. I would love to complete a postbac focused in Clinical Psych and Research but after looking into several programs I just don't see how I could qualify for those. I don't have the money to apply to programs without a general confidence in my success. It feels like psych graduate studies is a bit of a closed loop. Research experience is necessary for grad school/post bacc, can't get research experience without prereq academic or outside of formal academic structure. I've considered UC Berkeley EXT. Psych program(cost $4,000) but would it be worth it to do an online postbac then apply to another on campus postbac for research experience and professor interaction?  Short of getting a second Bachelors degree (which really isn't an option I'm considering) I'm at a lost. I just want to clearly convey my interest and show that I am diligent and passionate student that can handle academic rigor. 

Edited by Samjacobs

5 answers to this question

While tricky, I don't think it's impossible. Initially, my 1st question is why the switch? Why do you want to be a clinician and what do you want your day to day to look like? If you strictly want to do therapy, then a masters in counseling or social work may be an easier and faster path to get you to where you want to be.