Classical Archaeology to Curate: MA or PhD?

TaciturnTales

My background is a B.A. in English with a minor in violin performance and a B.S. in Anthropology with a focus in archaeology. Due to my lack of experience with Latin/Greek, I'm guessing that a Ph.D. in classical archaeology without a M.A. first would just not happen. Therefore, I am applying to master's programs that have no language requirements or who might make exceptions for students whose main interest is material culture rather than language. I am attempting to teach myself Latin and hope to be done with Wheelock's Latin before starting a master's program, but obviously that isn't going to get me into a Ph.D. 

In order to curate, is it a definite that I would need a Ph.D.? Would it be possible to find a low level curation position with an M.A.? Could I find a job that might fund me to get a Ph.D.?

I honestly feel pretty discouraged about the whole thing, given the present situation with the pandemic. I was so close this year to attending the school I wanted to go to and was even interviewed for two of the three assistantships for which I applied. Then they told me that no one was getting hired, presumably because of pandemic-related funding issues.

1 hour ago, TaciturnTales said:

In order to curate, is it a definite that I would need a Ph.D.? Would it be possible to find a low level curation position with an M.A.? Could I find a job that might fund me to get a Ph.D.?

A way to address this question is to use a resource like LinkedIn to identify positions similar to the ones you have in mind as "low level" and to look at the work/education experience of incumbents who have been hired within the last several years.

A question.  Would you be willing to focus on the administrative and financial aspects of curation if those skills led to more opportunities?

57 minutes ago, Sigaba said: