Overseas Clinical Psych Degree

psychgirl1010

Hi :) 

I am an American citizen from California with my BA in psychology. I currently live in Melbourne and am considering applying to the Uni of Melbourne for the 4 year combined MA/PhD program in clinical psych, and also the DClinPsych programs in the UK. I really want to study abroad for my grad program, but also don't know where I want to settle long term. I love the idea of studying abroad for grad, but want to make sure my degree isn't useless should I return to California to practice as a psychologist.

I contacted the California state board and many said my degree wouldn't be useless overseas, but they really couldn't tell until I send in my transcripts. At the best case, hopefully I would just have to take some additional courses for my qualifications to be recognized.

I wasn't able to get a direct answer, so wondering if any of you lovely folks have any helpful input? :) 

image.gif

Edited by tdkarma

I’ve done some research on this and from what I’ve read, it’s pretty difficult and sometimes impossible to become licensed with a foreign degree. It’s generally recommended to do your graduate training in the country where you want to work. The only exception is Canada since the programs are very similar and the APA and CPA have a mutual recognition agreement acknowledging their equivalence. 

This question has been asked a few times over the years on StudentDoctorNetwork, and the general consensus is that it is very likely that a degree from another country outside of Canada will not be licenseable in the United States. It is likely you would have to do a whole other doctorate rather than just a few classes (most PhD and PsyD programs will also not allow you to take classes as a non-matriculated student).