Stats PhD Profile Review + Suggestions for schools to apply to

dymense

My goal was to apply to Stats and CS departments and emphasize my strong desire to collaborate interdisciplinary on applying statistics/ML to problems in the physical and life sciences. I really loved that kind of work over the years of undergrad research and even now as I work post-grad on research on biomedical imagery. I graduated in 2020 and right now am in a gap year doing research with my old school.

Student Type: Domestic Asian Male

Undergrad: Top 30 University (USNews National Rankings)

Major: Physical Chemistry and Statistical/Data Science double major

GPA: 3.55/4.00

Relevant Courses: 

I don't know if this is a worthy not, but I also took a slew of upper division and graduate classes in Chemistry, Physics, and Biology, including and not limited to: Statistical Mechanics, Quantum Chemistry, Advanced Organic Chemistry, Mechanics, Molecular and Developmental Biology, Biochemistry, Medicinal Chemistry, and Inorganic/metallochemistry 

Math: Linear Algebra, Multivariable Calculus, Ordinary Differential Equations, Discreet Math

Stats: Probability theory, Regression Models, ANOVA, Time Series Analysis, Statistical Machine Learning, Bayesian Data Analysis, Statistical Experiment Design

CS: Programming principles in Python, Introduction to algorithms in C++, Introduction to data structures in C++, Python for Machine Learning

GRE: In-Progress, haven't gotten my score yet

Research:

• 3 years in a research lab working with the chair of the chemistry department, did polymer/materials science research, two second-author publications in two different journals with impact factor of about 4-4.5. Also helped develop a simulation program in Mathematica.