Help! Unsure about next steps

hrj_BA

Hello Everyone, always a pleasure to get help from everyone here. I am pretty much freaking out right now and have no one to turn to that would understand so any insight is appreciated.

TL;DR: Next 2 years in either: A) full time research job bordering responsibilities of a lab manager in unrelated clinical psych research with opportunities for independent projects or B.) Non funded terminal master's program to compensate for low undergrad GPA

I need some advice about what to do moving forward. Ultimately, I want to get into a clinical psych, possibly counseling psych PhD program. However, I know I'm lacking in several areas and I'm kind of at a crossroads about what to do next.

Background: I graduated from a mid-tier UC spring 2019 and worked at as a research assistant at a psychology department I consider to be pretty rigorous (R1 midwest school) for a year. I didn't get any significant experience, if anything I was doing more as an undergrad RA so I wasn't completely set on staying. I tried to increase my responsibilities/ opportunities to get deeper in research but my PI was understandably too busy and couldn't really help. I left after my mom fell ill right around when quarantine went into effect. I just didn't feel right being so far away so I moved back without a job. She's doing a lot better now so I feel okay venturing into the next steps of my career, but I'm not sure what to do next.

My GPA isn't great, I went to 3 different schools during my undergrad and I think it averages around 3.4 for cumulative, 3.6 for psych only. GRE was 163 V/155 Q which is okay and pretty much average for most of the programs I want, but not stellar enough to surpass my other average stats. I don't have publications or posters.