Political Science PhD - My Profile?

Parl Kolanyi

Hello all,

This is my first post here so I hope what I'll write makes sense for that platform. I want you to ask whether my profile is "good enough" to get accepted for the schools I plan to apply for PhD in Political Science.

I am an international undergrad student from a top school in Turkey, double majoring in Political Science & IR and Sociology. I have 3.45/4 GPA and my GRE scores are: Q-164 V-154 W-4. I have decent references and I am happy with my SoP. These are the schools I will apply: Ohio State, Virginia, Duke, Chicago, Northwestern, Penn State and Rochester. I want to specialize on Comparative Political Economy.

What should I expect from decisions? How would you you evaluate my profile according to these schools? And I would love to hear your advices.

You have the kind of profile that does not necessarily exclude you from any of the schools you are considering. But very many of the students you'll be competing against might have a stronger profile than yours. So whether or not you get in depends on, I think, if you can demonstrate outstanding potential to succeed in the program and beyond in other ways. You should basically try to ensure that you have a great SoP and writing sample. One concern is your low Verbal GRE score - that will be a red flag to any adcom. I'd probably apply to at least two less prominent programs that are easier to get into. Look in the lower top-50.

4 hours ago, Theory007 said: