Career Advice: Is it hopeless? PhD Womens Studies

treya25

I'm so scared about the future and I just need some solid advice as to how to build my CV for jobs. I have an MA in Women's Studies and am doing a PhD in Women's studies right now focusing on queer health. I am also doing an MA in Religious Studies at the same time. I've TA'ed, RA'ed, and have several papers in review. Once I finish my second MA, I was thinking maybe I should do a third in Sociology, Political Science, Education, Epidemiology, or Art History to make myself more marketable so I could apply for professorships in those fields focusing on gender. I'm happy with my life and what I'm studying but when I think about job prospects it scares me. I want a job in academia. I'll survive if I need to go back to my previous social service sector work (I have a ton of work experience) but I'd like to take advantage of the flexibility I have during PhD to publish in an area that will increase the chances of me being able to stay in academia.

Any suggestions as to how I can best use my time in PhD to be more marketable. I'm very bad at math but I could perhaps take stats online a million times until I can force myself to learn quant. I could do a third masters--if so, any suggestions? I could start doing another research focus in a more marketable area. I can handle and balance a lot if need be. Any help is welcome. I just want to not feel hopeless anymore. Or should I just accept that an academic job will never happen and commit to some internal motivation to do PhD?

I would not put yourself through the stress/effort of acquiring a third MA. Having 2, and a P.h.D. is very impressive. If you have a good mentor, reach out to them for opportunities for peer-reviewed publications and such. You sound awesome! Wishing you the best

On 2/11/2021 at 4:41 PM, mx.marx said: