What to do for the year while reapplying?

Unfortunately I didn't get into any programmes this year (stats PhD). I'm definitely going to apply again next cycle, but I'm a bit unsure what to spend the year doing in the meanwhile. What's best to make myself competitive for next time round? I'm currently doing a master's in statistics so will still be doing that til the end of August but I don't have hard plans after that. Internships? Get a proper job and do that for the next 12 months? Just focus on improving my application full time?

Obviously a research internship would be great but these aren't so easy to find.

Honestly, if you're not taking classes or doing research or something to improve the letters you will get, I don't think there is much to be done.  Luckily, I also don't think it matters much, as a school isn't going to look down on what you do for a year or even a few years.  Get a job to save up some money that will make grad school more enjoyable, or travel, or spend a year learning an instrument or something.

I was exactly in your position a year ago, except I wasn't in a masters. I took a gap year, did research with a couple Professors, wrote a publication, then reapplied and have been admitted to several schools this cycle. But I agree with @bayessays above. You need to have some tangible improvement to your application to increase the odds. That said, I was fortunate to be able to fund myself, as I wasn't paid. 

Edited by vraman

@csheehan10  I agree with @bayessays.    I'd go work a chill job save some money, cook and exercise a lot, and travel. 

If you want to bolster your math background:  I'd recommend taking a course or two on NetMath (UIUC).  You can do everything on your own schedule.  It's designed to be remote and it worked really well for me.