Figuring out where to apply

flyinginsect

I'm planning to apply to molecular biology/biomedical type Ph.D. programs this upcoming fall. I think I have a solid list of programs to apply to, but I'm worried I don't have a good balance of safety, target, and reach schools. Can someone help me figure this out?

So I'm a domestic student, 3.9 GPA from a well-respected college, several years of research (both in undergrad and in my lab tech job post-college), no publications or conferences (yet; I could feasibly get published this year, maybe, if I'm lucky). I feel confident that I can get 3 strong LORs. I'm not taking the GRE (all these programs are GRE-optional)

Here's my (tentative) list:

Harvard BBS, UPenn CAMB, Johns Hopkins BCMB, Cornell GGD, Temple Lewis Katz Biomed, Rutgers Molecular Bioscience, Albert Einstein Med School, Penn State Biomed, and Pitt IBGP

Does this seem too ambitious? Am I playing it too safe? Is this a well-balanced list?

In my opinion, you have a pretty well-balanced list based on your stats. I've applied to biomed/neuro PhD programs twice and would say that what matters the most is being able to find potential advisors and labs (is the school a good fit based on your research interests?) School prestige and rankings don't really matter, you could get rejected from all of your "safety" schools and get into an Ivy like Harvard for example, which is why I'm not a big fan of those terms. Just make sure to apply to schools you would want to go to if you were to be accepted and where you'd be a good fit!

1 hour ago, flyinginsect said:

I'm planning to apply to molecular biology/biomedical type Ph.D. programs this upcoming fall. I think I have a solid list of programs to apply to, but I'm worried I don't have a good balance of safety, target, and reach schools. Can someone help me figure this out?