Transferring PhD Programs

Background

Current PhD student at a state school in the Midwest and POC. I wish I'd done more research on my department before joining -- advisor is barely available, and the dept and town atmosphere is toxic for me. Does anyone here have any experience successfully transferring PhD programs? I'm not sure if I'll be able to get good recs from my current program but I have a master's already. I also don't want to just drop out of my current program. Any advice is appreciated.

It's difficult but not impossible. Given your circumstances it might be a good idea to contact your undergrad advisors and explain the situation, although anyone from your PhD program who you think would be understanding and write a letter for you would be a plus. How far along are you in your program? Usually the less far along you are the more understanding admission committees are. 

3 hours ago, Homeless said:

It's difficult but not impossible. Given your circumstances it might be a good idea to contact your undergrad advisors and explain the situation, although anyone from your PhD program who you think would be understanding and write a letter for you would be a plus. How far along are you in your program? Usually the less far along you are the more understanding admission committees are. 

Currently finishing my first year.

Then I would talk to your LoRs and anyone you've felt a positive connection to at your current program. If you can spin it as a change in your research interest or something along that lines it will probably help. More specific than that depends on your situation.

• 4 weeks later...

You cannot transfer. You have to apply to other programs and start as a first year student again. It's perfectly doable and several people do it. 

1. You might be able to get a good recommendation letter from someone there. I'd try to have at least one from this program.