Quantitative approach

asldfk234

I majored in statistics and history (not in the USA) and planning to apply for history phd this year.

I am interested in both qualitative and quantitative approaches. 

I tried to find quantitative researchers/grad schools in history focused on quantitative methods 

but it looks like quantitative methods are not that popular in history department. 

Any advice would be appreciated. Should I apply for other department like historical sociology?

Is there any professors/schools fit my interests?

You may want to look through recent issues Social Science History -- an important journal for quantitative historical approaches -- to see if there's someone you could work with. You may find that your historical interests are best served by professors whose "home" department are not history, such as sociology or economics. If that's so, you might be able work within a history department supervised by a co-advisor from outside history. Doing so would allow you to refine your understanding of both quantitative and qualitative methods.

Edited by AfricanusCrowther

I'm a Ph.D. student at Florida State, and I took a seminar this spring called Qualitative Methods in the Humanities with a history professor here, Will Hanley. You might contact him or look into whether the history program here might be a fit for you.

• 2 weeks later...
On 6/4/2021 at 1:44 PM, Rauschenbusch said:

I'm a Ph.D. student at Florida State, and I took a seminar this spring called Qualitative Methods in the Humanities with a history professor here, Will Hanley. You might contact him or look into whether the history program here might be a fit for you.

Thanks for the recommendation. It seems his research fits my interests very well.

On 6/3/2021 at 10:49 PM, AfricanusCrowther said: