Princeton Theological Seminary's ThM

nopa98

Does anyone know how difficult it is to be accepted to Princeton's ThM program? And will having either an MDiv or MTS from an evangelical seminary hinder my chances in any way?  

I realize I may be looking too far ahead, but I'd at least like to form some kind of plan to which I can attempt to adhere going forward. My end goal is a PhD in biblical or theological studies. I'm currently a psychology undergrad at an R1 in NY, graduating next May with a 3.8. I then plan to get an MDiv or MTS from a reformed seminary (likely Calvin, RTS or Westminster). I'll then probably need a ThM to advance further, so I am currently very interested in Princeton's program. How competitive is it? And will having a masters from an evangelical seminary pigeonhole me out of acceptance? 

Further, I'm also curious how competitive PhD programs generally are at evangelical seminaries, if anyone can provide that kind of info. Thanks. 

Why don't you just apply for PTS's Mdiv directly? They have lots of fundings. Based on what I have heard from some alumni, PTS's ThM is very easy to get in. GPA requirement is around 3.2 when my friend applied. 

On 6/9/2021 at 5:20 PM, nopa98 said:

Further, I'm also curious how competitive PhD programs generally are at evangelical seminaries, if anyone can provide that kind of info. Thanks. 

You're wanting to do a M.Div at a reformed school, ThM at PTS, and then go back to the evangelical circle for a PhD?

Some evangelical schools can be fairly competitive, part. among such identifying applicants. The problem you face, realistically, is that a PhD from an evangelical school greatly diminishes the number of schools that you're realistically hire-able at. You're better off aiming to go to as "high" a school as you can and then go back to evangelical circles to teach.

• 1 month later...