Listing Languages on CV (Thoughts? Experiences? Advice?)

SemperDiscentes

*Note: I am asking this question specifically for those interested in academia, whether current or future professionals in the field.

Question: how do you designate your language competence on your CV? Do you list your CEFR levels? Number of credit hours? Also, how do you highlight your competence in a certain language without devaluing your language work in other areas? For example, I know people who take one course in Syriac and list "Syriac (reading)" on their CV. But what if you have real professional working proficiency in another language (e.g., you can read professional articles or sight read period texts pretty well)? I know this question contains a mix of elements, but I'm interested in what the rest of you think. It's such a struggle for me to fight for transparency and authenticity while still wanting to market myself well (I'm sure some understand the feeling).

P.S. (I'm a graduate student [M.Div] interested in doing a PhD in Religion/Philosophy/Theology in early modern period (18th-19th century Europe). 

I assume you're worried about this for PhD applications? That is really the only reason I would worry. Once you're in a program and after there is no need to go into detail about coursework/proficiency. The commonly accepted method is to just list the languages, often with something like "reading" or "native" following: e.g. German (reading), French (native), Syriac (reading), Arabic (elementary reading), etc. Your transcripts/application should sort out the specifics, again if we are talking about doctoral apps. If you're applying to a language-heavy program I have seen folks list years/experience (I think I did this? It's been too long): e.g. Syriac (5 years), Greek (8 years), etc. Listing specific courses is generally a bad idea since your transcripts will do that work (and you don't want to discourage folks from reading your CV/application). 

• 2 weeks later...