Super Noob Here (please help me)

Kaykay321

Hello, 

I apologize in advance if a lot of these questions have been repeated a lot. I've spent hours trying to do my own research and have used the search bar in thegradcafe extensively as well. 

Basically, I want to apply to a Masters in Psychology. I was a first gen college student so this is all new and scary for me!

Important factors:

-I majored in English Lit as an undergrad and graduated in 2014 with a 3.8 GPA

-I don't have any undergrad psychology coursework

-I haven't taken the GRE yet but I'm willing to

-I don't have any research experience

-I applied for a fully-funded post bac geared to lead towards a PhD in Psychology and got rejected (super competitive)

What I want:

-low cost or LOTS of fellowships/ scholarships

-an easy transition to PhD program if I choose to pursue that but also an easy transition to a career if I don't want PhD

-research and hands on experience

-campus in the city (willing to relocate)

-diverse city, faculty, and students

-program focused on mentorship

There are so many different kinds of programs that I don't know if I should just limit myself to 1 kind. For example, should I consider a Masters of Education in Counseling? Or should I ONLY consider Masters in Psych? How the heck can I figure out if the program offers financial aid? A lot of them don't mention it. Do I need to make sure that the Masters program is CACREP certified? Should I only look at programs that will train me for the LCP?

Basically, how the heck do I pick a program? I am able to find a long list of schools that offer programs like this, but it's hard to comb through them. Do I just need to buckle down and literally scour every school's Admissions page?

Please help a clueless girl out.