Seeking help from psychology graduates in the US

local_panda

This is a cry for help, I don't think I have ever been this lost academically. I have a bachelor's degree in arts with a major in Psychology from Mumbai, India. I want to pursue higher education in the United States of America, and as a Psychology major, I know I have four paths leading to grad school in the US

1. Masters (60 credits program) leading to state license

2. Masters pre-doctoral track (30-42 credits)

3. PsyD

4. PhD

Deciding which track is best suited for me is a predicament. I do not see myself pursuing a Ph.D. because of the heavy emphasis on research, so when it comes to choosing a doctoral program, PsyD is a preference. However, two questions pop into my mind:

1. As an international student, is it judicious to incur an enormous student loan debt of almost 150000$ to pursue PsyD?

2. If the above is not that bad of an idea, how can I strengthen my application - having some serious deficiencies - enough to be a desirable candidate for the said program?

With an undergraduate GPA of only 3.05, an average GRE score of 157V150Q, and very limited research/clinical experience, I think it makes sense to pursue a Master's degree first. The question here is whether to do it from my home country, i.e., India (and save a couple thousand $$), or a state university in the US. Getting a master's degree from India will definitely provide a good amount of exposure but, I am not sure if I will be given the same preference as the domestic applicants. When it comes to doing my masters in the US is it better to opt for a program of 30 or 60 credits?

If you are a psychology graduate who went through something similar, I would be eternally grateful if you could provide some guidance as to what should be my next step. I would really appreciate it if you can have a look at my resume and underscore the prerequisites and experiences I need to procure to become a desirable candidate for a PsyD/Masters program.