Applying to PsyD Programs - Do I have to know what I want to specialize in?

gradseeker820

Hi Everyone, 

I am applying to PsyD programs for Fall 2022. I majored in psychology in undergrad and have spent the last few years working (in a different field). My question is, do I have to have a clear idea of what type of therapy I want to specialize in and what theories I subscribe to prior to applying? For example, someone in another forum was talking about being an object relations theorist and how this was influencing their grad school search. I had honestly never even come across this term in my undergraduate study. In the career goals section of my personal statement I mostly focused on the populations I want to work with and certain areas I am interested in (like topics within health psychology). I was hoping to get some exposure to a broad range of modalities through graduate coursework and internships, and then use that to develop a specialization. But now I am worried that I should already know this and that I will seem like a wishy-washy/uninformed candidate. Are you usually asked to explain your allegiance to a certain technique during interviews? Can anyone help with this?

I don't think so. Depending on the program, it can be a plus to express interests in evidence-based approaches, e.g., CBT/DBT/ACT. It may help if you can figure out the practicum opportunities and what are predominantly used in these available practicums or by the practicum supervisors (for example, if you say you want exposure to everything but the program only does CBT, then they may (mis)perceive you as a bad fit since they don't have the training opportunities that would meet your needs.)