Case Western

geochic

Anybody else starting at Case this fall? How about those of you who've been in programs recently/currently? Any advice, suggestions, interesting tidbits?

If you don't mind sharing, who will be your advisor? I was an undergrad geology minor at Case, so I know a few of the profs. I don't know much about them as advisors, but the ones I took classes with (Drs. Harvey, Matisoff, Hauck, and McCall) are all very smart and good professors. They take their material seriously and all of them run a good class. McCall is lovably goofy and Harvey is just awesome.

The department has a monthly (maybe twice a month?) seminar that is always well attended. The talks are usually good, but omg the pizza they get is amazing! :P Seriously, it's really good and they always get a ton.

I really love the Case campus, but there is still a bit of construction going on in the surrounding hospitals. It's not too horrendous, but can be annoying. The entire campus if very walkable; I didn't bother much with the shuttles which never seemed to be there when you wanted them.

Utilize the Health Line bus if you can. It goes down Euclid very frequently (every 5-15 minutes depending on the day/time) and there are a few stops that are along the campus.

The library system is great, I never had a problem finding what I needed. There's the big main library, KSL, and two others connected to the hospitals. You may not need those though.

Winters are very, very...bad. Very cold, very snowy. The sidewalks are usually kept up, but the wind is miserable. The other seasons though are very lovely. :D

Depending on what you're working on, you may find yourself at the Cleveland Museum of Natural History. Dr. Hannibal is a real character.