Finding Your Space...

rachaelski

I am visiting the college town where I earned my first master's degree this weekend. At this very moment I am sitting in the coffee shop where I completed the majority of my thesis (as well as my readings and papers for courses). It made me remember how important place is for graduate studies, and what a big step identifying that place is. I tried working at home, at the library, and at other coffee shops. However, no place was quite right. At my coffeeshop I had the perfect balance of focus and socializing. Many friends worked there as well, or at least knew they could find me here. I miss the coffee shop! In my new graduate student life, I get so much more work done at home, so that's my new space....kind of funny how it changes!

Somewhat bittersweet, as I sit here an album that was played a lot during my time here (2004-2006) is now playing--The Buenavista Social Club!

Let's share our stories of finding space and our secret space....mine is Donkey Coffee for anyone at Ohio University....though it's not too secret in Athens!

Awww. Love this. I'm a bit nutso about the concepts of space and place. I thought it was my age and experience that put this concern so high up my priority list. Maybe its just personality.

Anyway, I just made a huge journal entry about finding and outfitting just the right work space in my new apartment. I am also scouting local spots over the next two weeks of down time. The chairs and writing space have to be just so - I'm short; no dangling feet! - and the energy has to be pitched perfectly.

Other odd things: water, coffee, salty and sweet snacks must be at hand. Basically anything my wayward physical form might demand should be convenient so I don't stop working to satiate the craving.