Hi everyone, I am a third year student in Australia who is preparing my phd applications ahead (or maybe I am late to the game already). Wish to ask some advices!

1. I follow the strategy of go big or go home. All schools that I wish to apply outside Australia are Tier A schools. I understand how ambitious this is, but if someone has to get in, why it can't be me? Schools that I am planning on applying include but not limited to Cambridge, Oxford, Harvard etc. How competitive it really is for those schools?

2. For these top schools, does my research experience have to be completely related to I/O or social psychology (considering both)? I have participated in a environmental psychology lab, and I also did my internship in a kindergarten where I observed the working style there.

3. How strong does my recommandations letter has to be? Will professor whose h index higher than 40 help? If their h index is around 20, is it still good enough?

4. I understand what I am doing may be a long shot, but I still have to give it a try for my dreams. I wonder how unrealistic I am at this point? My gpa is 6.2/7.0 in australia. I have built some relationships with research fellow/associate professor in my uni. I am still expecting my honour year, and have participated in lab research (though not in I/O division). If I successfuly get into a I/O professor (h index>40)'s lab, will that help a lot?

5. I hope I can get I/O research experience, however, not all professors that are willing to take me focus in such field... What should I do? I do need research experience and I am grateful. However, I do not wanna be the kind of student who use them and then say "Nah, I like you as a person, but we don't match up"