Am I in the right place?

Kaeira

So I am a first year graduate student in a social psychology MA/PhD, fresh out of undergrad. I've been having a variety of problems with graduate school that really just make me feel like I'm in the wrong place. First of all, I haven't really made friends in my program yet and it's already been an entire semester. It's been really difficult, because I was the only new social psych student, and all of the other social psych students are married and several years older than me. It's not that I have a problem with married people, it's just that I feel like I'm at a very different place in my life and while they have people to spend time with on nights and weekends I don't, and it makes me feel really lonely. The person who I stayed with when I interviewed here was really awesome, but he left the program before I got there. There are some other first year psych students, but I didn't have any classes with them last semester and I'm worried that by now they've all gotten a chance to know each other and it will be really hard for me to assimilate. And of course all of this is completely disregarding the fact that I really don't have time to socialize or have hobbies or anything else.