Low GRE score and High GPA

Bacchae

Hi all,

I'm an international student who came to the US in 2009. I got a full scholarship from the school I'm studying now and I'm almost done with the program. I just submitted my applications to PhD programs in Religious studies in 4 different schools (Harvard, Yale, Emory, Boston Univ.). My GRE score is pretty low (V-390, Q-420, and AW-4). I have had 2 master degrees from Asia, and currently I'm working on one more master degree in a leading school in my field in California. My GPA was 3.97 in my previous masters (both with honor summa cum laude), and 3.92 in my current MA program. I am preparing a chapter for a forthcoming book and I will be presenting a paper in an academic conference this March. My recommendations should be very strong. However, this low GRE score has troubled me a lot and I do not have strong confidence in my applications.

Do I have a chance to get into those schools? Thank you.

Edited by NyongAmbon

These forums are all about snatching victory from the jaws of defeat, so I hate to say anything negative about your chances. I'm no fan of the GRE nor a great believer in the test's ability to predict future success at graduate school. But, a combined 810 is a very poor score. Being that it is a religious studies department, your verbal is going to have more of an influence than your quantitative score. The average verbal GRE score for those admitted to the schools that you've applied for are as follows:

Boston University: 540.

Harvard: 578.

Yale: 582.

Emory does not publish an average of GRE scores for admitted students but does post a range of scores of students that were admitted (500-800V), so you can take from this that your scores will probably exclude you from Emory.