English department assistantship

LongGone

Hi all,

I am considering applying to a TA or RA in English departments. How does the work really look like when you get the assistantship? I am an international student and the education system is different here. I suppose I have to have a very good command of English.

Is there anyone here who has experience in that kind of position?

Hi all,

I am considering applying to a TA or RA in English departments. How does the work really look like when you get the assistantship? I am an international student and the education system is different here. I suppose I have to have a very good command of English.

Is there anyone here who has experience in that kind of position?

I don't personally, but I have a friend who's been a TA for ( ?) 3 or 4 years, I think... Yes, he does have to teach the class completely on his own.

I think his first year or two he got stuck with freshman composition-type classes, but as he gains seniority he gets better classes, like American Lit (which is his specialty).

1. As the others have said, you'll most likely teach a comp class on your own - you're not so much a teaching "assistant" as an adjunct instructor (though you are much better paid than adjuncts). Perhaps you'll have a faculty member to report to - someone associated with the writing center and/or comp/rhet or similar - who serves as a mentor but who does not teach your classes. It's you and 20+ freshmen. Note that comp does not include literature at all. Often there's an overarching theme to the course, which gives context for the papers, but this is distinct from lit. Think large historical, ethical, philosophical issues - these provide the basis for many comp classes. But your school will tell you what they want you to teach, and how to teach it.