Work/Life Balance

LadyL

I am in my first year of grad school after working in a lab for 3 years after undergrad. In my last lab, I ran myself into the ground trying to be a superstar. I was pretty successful at it - I helped us avoid getting the funding pulled on a multi million dollar grant whose progress had stalled. In order to do so I collected an unbelievable amount of data under ridiculous time constraints. The PI in the lab actually tried to promote me directly from Research Assistant to Research Associate because of my work but associates have to have a graduate degree and I only had a BA.

The problem was that my personal life suffered terribly because I had no energy for anything but my job, and my long term relationship almost ended in part because of that. I also spent the last year in the job burnt out, disengaged, and coasting on my own previous success. I am very, very wary of making the same mistakes again. I would rather have a slightly slower career trajectory and a life, than be a superstar with no friends or boyfriend and a neglected cat who hates me.

Right now I get enough work done to please my advisor and maintain progress in my program, but I basically keep my work week to about 35-40 hours. This will inevitably increase next semester when I add a TA position on to my current responsibilities but my plan is to never work more than an average of 45-50 hours a week. It's just not worth the personal cost to me.